001/100 Things – What Should I do?

I’m not sure what to do about my writing at all, and I’m starting to want to hit my head against a brick wall rather than think about it for a moment longer.

I have a project simply known as my Sky Pirates thing, which is a hope to write seven books in the series, about a handful of Sky Pirates (two main), their adversaries known as the Enforcers, and a couple of megalomaniacs who will probably succeed in the end. I first started writing this in 2007, have done seven small ‘bits’ of writing on it (during NaNo and Script Frenzy) and a handful of other things aside.

However, it’s massive in my mind and I’m really having trouble gathering it all together cohesively. Basically I think I have delusions of grandeur, that it can be as detailed and interwoven as Brandon Sanderson’s multiple series and so on. Yet I just don’t seem to have the ability to make it WORK. Kind of like how you want to paint something – can visulise it in your head – and then your hand paints a sloppy mess.

Would you suggest that I keep working on it – maybe I haven’t accepted how hard writing is – and if so, does anyone have suggestions of where I should start plotting cohesively… OR

Should I put it aside, come up with something totally different and keep it small, learn how to write ‘well’ on it instead, and come back to my Sky Pirates once I have more experience and have learnt how to do it as well as I visualise?

About thiefofcamorr

Katharine likes to think she’s a Sky Pirate and that takes up most of her time. When she isn’t treasure hunting, she’s writing or playing video games and wishing Doctor Who and Farscape were real. She started writing at age 12 and has written almost every day on paper and most certainly in her mind otherwise – or at least, she used to, and is hoping to get back into that mindset asap. She tends to like the idea of fantasy, but her ideas themselves always seem to gravitate towards science fiction. Katharine is a judge in the Aurealis Awards, and would really like a pet chocobo.

8 responses »

  1. What do you want to do? Do you want to write *something* or do you want to write *this*? Does it hammer against your head and insist that you write it NOW or are there other ideas you’d like to play with?

    You could take a small part of it, and forget the rest, just focus on the telling that bit of the story.

    Or you could put it aside, write something else, and come back to it when you have the distance from it to see what needs to be done to it.

    It’s easy to feel overwhelmed, even with something that’s a single book of sensible size 🙂

    Reply
    • I want to write this, BUT only if I can do it well 😦 There aren’t any other ideas I want to play with, let alone nearly as badly, but I’m either not trying hard enough or I just don’t know what the heck I’m doing – the planning process of developing the world and plot into something amazing just doesn’t seem to be working.

      I’ve taken small bits of it before (such as writing out the childhoods of two of the main characters) and I basically know each step of each character from birth until their 30s, so idk

      So that’s why I’m asking, whether to step aside for a while or just keep working at it ^^ I’m definitely overwhelmed. Drowning! Gaaaah.

      Reply
  2. Now I’m me again, I have too many WP accounts 🙂

    Can you find a story within it? A small adventure? Something that would be complete at short story or novel length?

    You have to forget about making it amazing. That’s just going to ensure you feel overwhelmed. What you’ll do instead is, write it as well as you can now, and you’ll get better and it will get written. It’ll never be as intricate and detailed as Brandon Sanderson’s books, because that is how *he* writes. It will be as intricate and detailed as Katharine’s book (which I’d probably rather read 🙂

    And stop thinking about developing the whole world and the big picture, and just narrow it down to something you can work on. Baby steps.

    Otherwise, come back to it, but only if you’re something else to work on instead.

    Reply
    • Aha so do I 😄

      Hrm, I think I’ll have to. Each NaNo and SF has been a small adventure and I’m not sure when I should tackle the big thing – but that probably means I’m not ready yet if I’m not sure ^^

      Forgetting about trying to make it amazing is probably what I need to do. I should write and write and slowly things will make themselves evident – in final drafts that’s when I can make it awesome. Hopefully.

      Sanderson’s books are pretty damn amazing, you should give them a go ^^ Try Mistborn.

      Reply
      • I’ve lost interested in fantasy (reading it or writing it, which is a bit annoying).

        If you write and write, you’ll find your own voice, which is what you want. That’s when it gets awesome.

        (I’m feeling overwhelmed by my Nano from last year. I want to go back to working on it, but it’s time travel and I don’t know enough about the setting and I won’t be able to get the characters emotional stuff to work and the external conflict isn’t developed properly and the central “obstacle” is just contrived and I don’t know enough about the setting. Getting overwhelmed at times is part of writing, I think.”

      • Aww, that’s a shame. Is there any reason for it specifically, or just more interested in another genre?

        That does sound overwhelming. Is it possible to take it one part at a time? Research the setting and add that in, then go back and put in external conflict, then do emotional stuff last?

      • I just tired with the same-old 🙂 Happens. I haven’t found anything I prefer instead. I read anything.

        As for my WIP, I’ll be changing where and it starts, slightly (now she steps out and looks about at the new place, and then there’s a parade thingy, very off-putting) and concentrating on the structure and stuff. I’ll be right once I start. It’s just the thought of it…..

        (The emotion always goes in last. If it goes in at all. That’s what is bugging me about Most Evil WIP, so I need to put that aside to work on new WIP. I have too many WIPs:)

      • That’s true, I think book club and reviewing keeps me away from fantasy/SF enough that I still love to come back to it.

        That sounds nifty ^^ Stick with it!

Leave a Reply

