004/100 Things – Gardeners vs Architects

Posted on

Brandon Sanderson 2012 Lectures

  • If you want to treat this like a honest-to-gosh college level writing class do the following:
  • a. Write a 50,000 word novel over a 4 month period, about 12,500 words a month. They don’t need to be good but they do need to be written.
  • b. Establish a writing group (of around 5 people) and submit and critique a thousand words of new writing from each of you every week.
  • c. Get an expert (aka Brandon or someone you trust) to critique 2000 words of your most polished prose, preferably your novel’s introduction.

While I may be able to establish a writing group, I don’t think I have the ability to get an expert opinion. Chances to win those are rare, and the authors I adore don’t offer the service for money. There are other experts who do, but if I’m paying for something I’d rather it be for the eyes of someone in the area I would like to head to one day. Feedback from someone I don’t write to won’t be of much help – as far as I understand it.

It is so good to hear Brandon say that NaNo is hard for most people – because it isn’t for me. If I can do that (and the words don’t have to be good) then I’m ahead of some, and perhaps not as terrible and awful as I think I am.

And I still have no idea whether or not I should be tackling my Sky Pirates or moving on to something else for a while.

About thiefofcamorr

Katharine likes to think she’s a Sky Pirate and that takes up most of her time. When she isn’t treasure hunting, she’s writing or playing video games and wishing Doctor Who and Farscape were real. She started writing at age 12 and has written almost every day on paper and most certainly in her mind otherwise – or at least, she used to, and is hoping to get back into that mindset asap. She tends to like the idea of fantasy, but her ideas themselves always seem to gravitate towards science fiction. Katharine is a judge in the Aurealis Awards, and would really like a pet chocobo.

Leave a Reply

