009/100 Things – Plotting

Posted on

 

Today I printed out several pages of my Turas Index and took it out to lunch. (Next time I do this I need to remember to ignore any whims and head to the place that I know does good food. I mean, lunch was fine, but it could have been better for a cheaper price, win win. I also have an issue of knowing a pair of twins where I’m on okay terms with one, and not really talking to the other. I saw one today and had no idea which one it was (as it’s been so long since I’ve seen either, and whoever it is, she’s lost a bit of weight) and said ‘hey!’ anyway. That wouldn’t have happened if I’d gone to Noodle House instead of Asian Pot. I think I’m off topic.)

 

Basically, I printed out several pages, ate some lunch (beef noodle soup and a side plate of chilli garlic ginger chicken) and filled in a few blanks on my pages. Being outside and able to concentrate, getting into my own little world without having to listen out for phones or pretend to be working for a while.

 

I think, as writers, this is what we need to do more often. It sounds like a lame excuse to be able to treat ourselves, but I think it’s more about breaking routine and escaping the world for a bit so we can create our own.

 

I came up with quite a few interesting things today. It was really worth it.

About thiefofcamorr

Katharine likes to think she’s a Sky Pirate and that takes up most of her time. When she isn’t treasure hunting, she’s writing or playing video games and wishing Doctor Who and Farscape were real. She started writing at age 12 and has written almost every day on paper and most certainly in her mind otherwise – or at least, she used to, and is hoping to get back into that mindset asap. She tends to like the idea of fantasy, but her ideas themselves always seem to gravitate towards science fiction. Katharine is a judge in the Aurealis Awards, and would really like a pet chocobo.

Leave a Reply

