011/100 Things – Mythic Scribes Blood Pact

Mythic Scribes is literally the best fantasy writing forum I’ve come across. I was invited to be a mod there shortly after joining (I think it was my awesome friend Lana who told me about it?) and though I’ve come and gone as my anxiety waxes and wanes, and because a few of the members seemed to be typing as if they were six, I’m currently there now and it’s going wrong.

A fellow mod there, ‘Phil the Drill’ who currently lives in Japan, started a ‘blood pact’ after noticing that many members are writing, but not finishing their novel. Hence:

1. I will finish something.

2. I will have it ready to send out by London WorldCon 2014.

3. Even if this isn’t realistic, I will still try.

4. I’m tired of failing.

5. I will submit it to Gollancz London and if they don’t want it then I’ll try Harper Voyager Australiaand then if that doesn’t work Orbit, perhaps. Then if those three don’t want my novel, then, and only then, I’ll start writing something else.

And then he made a poll:

First let’s say what’s holding us back:

1. I’ve submitted everywhere but no one wants my book(s)
2. I’ve never finished anything
3. I edit too much to the point where nothing is ever finished. 
4. I have Creative ADD.
5. I’m too busy with other stuff.
6. I don’t think I’m good enough.
7. I’m relatively new and don’t know what I’m doing.
8. I’m afraid of rejection.
9. I don’t write well enough for my liking.

Of which my sins are thus:

3. I edit too much. I post sections to a critique group I’m in, or on here, and get overly disheartened when I get much fewer replies than others. Though probably just as many as many others, or more than some do anyway. (Hence very irrational of me, but anxiety + confidence to write is a fickle thing.) So I put it aside or work much, much slower on it. 

4. Because NaNo requests that we start something new (not that I always do) and because I’m in a few rps that spark a new project every so often, sometimes I put projects aside for a month. Which is a mistake, really. For me, anyway. 

5. Same as above. In addition I review books for publishers, judge award sets (Aurealis Awards are possibly the biggest awards for Spec Fic in Australia) and part of the most followed Sherlock (BBC) RP on twitter. I have 24,000 followers, which means I feel obliged (and love) to spend a bit of time on each day. 

6. Same as point three. My confidence is awful and I’m starting to have to admit and accept I have anxiety issues. Writing is so, so important to me that I get incredibly disheartened when I don’t do it justice.

8. Same as point three and six. 

9. Same as point tree, six and eight.

And so it looks like I have a lot of work to do. In the Brandon Sanderson 2012 Critique Group we’re currently at week two, and I’ve submitted my 1,000 words (of my new work, Turas) and critiqued the five as requested. I’m really quite annoyed that there’s a much higher count of those posting, than those critiquing. The damn rules state you critique five others if you’re posting anything.

Anyhow. No one ever said writing (well) was easy.

About thiefofcamorr

Katharine likes to think she’s a Sky Pirate and that takes up most of her time. When she isn’t treasure hunting, she’s writing or playing video games and wishing Doctor Who and Farscape were real. She started writing at age 12 and has written almost every day on paper and most certainly in her mind otherwise – or at least, she used to, and is hoping to get back into that mindset asap. She tends to like the idea of fantasy, but her ideas themselves always seem to gravitate towards science fiction. Katharine is a judge in the Aurealis Awards, and would really like a pet chocobo.

Leave a Reply

