015/100 – Problems Identified

New layout, it feels cleaner this way.

 

I’ve finally had that ratty ‘need to write’ feeling (well, I’ve had it for a while, but it’s getting to the stage where it’s necessary) and with it, I’ve discovered why I’ve had such a block with my main novel idea.

I have three factions within my series, and I have little clue how to present one of them – the two characters from the Academy. I’ve tried so many different styles of them that I’m not sure which to use and how to define them.

In regards to the plot I need the characters to already be established, yet it is so crucial for the reader to know how they began – I thought I could only show different sets of characters if the reader knows how they all connect, yet looking at what I’ve read lately, few seem to do that straight away. So this means I at least have 1/4 of the book until I have to have them all meet!

 

Basically, I need to spend longer plotting each and every chapter. Stop being lazy, self. With that unlocked, there’s nothing in your damn way.

About thiefofcamorr

Katharine likes to think she’s a Sky Pirate and that takes up most of her time. When she isn’t treasure hunting, she’s writing or playing video games and wishing Doctor Who and Farscape were real. She started writing at age 12 and has written almost every day on paper and most certainly in her mind otherwise – or at least, she used to, and is hoping to get back into that mindset asap. She tends to like the idea of fantasy, but her ideas themselves always seem to gravitate towards science fiction. Katharine is a judge in the Aurealis Awards, and would really like a pet chocobo.

Leave a Reply

