My 2012

Books read: 129
Shorts: 26
Audio: 29
Podcasts: 45
Comics/Manga: 28
Things won: 17
Movies: 18
Television: 272

This year I had two holidays – three, if you count the few days my partner was here at the very start of the year. From the 22nd – 27th of May, Lana and I went to the Glass House Mountains for a Writing Trip, where instead we played Magic: The Gathering and Settlers of Catan and I did utterly no writing. Then, from the 21st – 23rd of August – my Drewbro travelled all around Australia and stopped here for a few days  😀

Other things of note this year, our dingo Akasha died of the effects of old age at 12 years old. We adopted Echo from the RSPCA who then died after only six weeks by somehow getting out of the yard and being hit by a car. We then got Beckett, a border collie/husky cross who is a little terror and we love her to bits.

I knitted a scarf for my partner – Started: 7th Feb 2012 / Finished 15th Feb 2012. I started a jumper for him which is still only just started. I finished a quilt I started years ago, and made a much smaller one for my cat from the remains.

Partner and I reached our two year anniversary. Sherlock RP has been going since August 2010 and I have 31,000 followers. Rather than trying to move, rent or buy, we decided the best choice for the future was to put in a proposal to the building council for a flat-pack granny-flat kind of small house to be built at the far corner of my parents block. I’ve been in my current job for nine years by the 17th January. I’ve started on anxiety/depression meds and am seeing a psychologist.

I hit $50,000 in my savings (soon to be demolished when the house building starts) and whilst voting in the Hugo Awards for the first time and judging Aurealis Awards for the second time, I now review for seven publishers, NetGalley, and write for two websites whilst very slowly starting my own.

For some reason I still don’t feel like I’ve accomplished a damn thing.

About thiefofcamorr

Katharine likes to think she’s a Sky Pirate and that takes up most of her time. When she isn’t treasure hunting, she’s writing or playing video games and wishing Doctor Who and Farscape were real. She started writing at age 12 and has written almost every day on paper and most certainly in her mind otherwise – or at least, she used to, and is hoping to get back into that mindset asap. She tends to like the idea of fantasy, but her ideas themselves always seem to gravitate towards science fiction. Katharine is a judge in the Aurealis Awards, and would really like a pet chocobo.

Leave a Reply

