The Gentleman Bastards competition!

Scott Lynch is easily my favourite author. His series, The Gentleman Bastards, is the one I fling at others the most to read and nearly everyone who’s had the book pitched at their heads has loved it.

Now that the third book has a release date, it’s time for me to do another giveaway!

I will be giving away two copies each of ‘The Lies of Locke Lamora’, and ‘Red Seas Under Red Skies’ – the first two books in the series. The winner can choose whether they would like the paperback version, kindle version, or any other electronic version that has the same easy ‘gift this ebook via email’ option.

To make it a bit different though – the winner will only receive ‘The Lies of Locke Lamora’ to begin with. Whenever they have finished it (hopefully sometime this year!) I’ll then send through ‘Red Seas Under Red Skies’. Basically just to be a little push to edge this series up your reading pile, as we only have six months until the third is out!

Anyone in the world can enter my competition (if the winner chooses paperback, I’ll happily send them anywhere). All you have to do to enter is comment below stating why you’d love to win 🙂

Winners will be picked at random, only then will I contact requesting postage or email details.

Competition ends 29th of March (Australian time!), and the winners will be announced on the 30th March, 2013.

Scott Lynch’s 3rd book, ‘The Republic of Thieves’ will be released on October 10, 2013 in the UK and Commonwealth and October 8, 2013 in the US!

About thiefofcamorr

Katharine likes to think she’s a Sky Pirate and that takes up most of her time. When she isn’t treasure hunting, she’s writing or playing video games and wishing Doctor Who and Farscape were real. She started writing at age 12 and has written almost every day on paper and most certainly in her mind otherwise – or at least, she used to, and is hoping to get back into that mindset asap. She tends to like the idea of fantasy, but her ideas themselves always seem to gravitate towards science fiction. Katharine is a judge in the Aurealis Awards, and would really like a pet chocobo.

27 responses »

  1. I want it because my friend Lisa is a huge fan, and I do much to make her happy. Case in point: Getting John Green to autograph a sign saying “Lisa Sucks”. I would love to win her these books.

    Reply
  2. I would love to win because I loved reading SCott’s posts on RPG.net and e-book is a lot easier than carrying my MMPBs of those books around. I need to re-read before October, anyway.

    Reply
  3. I fell in love with the covers in the book store. I brought one home as a gift to a friend – and he devoured it. I want to read my own now….

    Reply
  4. I’d love to win because I’ve never read a Gentleman Bastards book, but have heard all sorts of wonderful things about them from E. Bear and the SF Squeecast. Crossing my fingers and toes! Thank you doing this giveaway!

    Reply
  5. I want to read them because I have heard so many great things about them, and they 100% sound like my kind of book

    Reply
  6. Who wouldn’t love to win these books! Maybe if I won I could actually share them out without fear of never seeing them again!

    Reply
  7. I would also like to win this so I could not shiver every time someone borrows my copy. And you better believe I would read it right away!

    Reply
  8. I’d love to win because the first time I read them I borrowed them from the library, and now that I want to re-read them someone else is busy enjoying them.

    Reply
  9. Read both books back to back in my high school years; of all the fantasy I’ve come across the Gentleman Bastard sequence is my favorite. Recommended them to a friend recently and have been meaning to get a digital version to reread, but I’d definitely treasure a paperback copy.

    Reply
  10. When I saw Scott tweet a funny, but not nice review of The Lies of Locke Lamora, that’s when I knew I had to read the books. a) the review made me want to read the book for myself and b) hard to resist an author who has a sense of humor about themselves.

    Reply
  11. Because if you don’t choose me Jean Tannen and the Wicked Sisters may show up at your door 😛
    nah, just kidding, I’ll just send a bondsmage.
    thanks for doing this giveaway (I hope I win, lol)

    Reply
  12. I would love to read them because I only heard good things about them and just reading Scott Lynch’s Twitter and blog-post has convinced me that this guy must also write amazing books ^^

    Reply
  13. Hi,

    I’d like to win because I sent my paperback copy all the way to the USA to get signed so I could give it to my friend for his birthday and it went missing. I would like to finish his 4 year overdue birthday present one day!

    Reply
  14. hrishikesh purandare

    I would love to win because I love the books and they are my way to complete my engg. i reread the books before my xams. They are like my good luck charm :-). Also they are never available where I live.(India):-(..

    Reply
  15. I’d like to win because the protagonist apparently shares a name with me, and yet despite all the buzz around Scott Lynch and the Gentlemen Bastards, I still haven’t sat down with this series and read it. Lynch’s work sounds like it’s up my alley – you know, the blind one on the bad side of town, the one with all the stabbings – so maybe if I had the books on hand, I’d tear right through them!

    Reply
  16. It has been a long while since I discovered a new author, or a new series, that I really, really liked (i.e can’t wait for pb but HAVE to buy hb). If this is as good as you say, I’d love a chance to get hooked.

    Reply
  17. I read the Lies of Locke Lamora in hardcover when it was first released… And then foolishly loaned it to a (now former) friend who never returned it. I would love to reread it in time for the release of the third book (although this time I’d be sure to make my friends buy their own copies!)

    Reply
  18. I already own them in digital format, but they are so good, I want to give the dead tree version to my sister to read!

    Reply
  19. I’d like to win because these books have been on my To Read list for way too long. I just need that little extra push to finally start reading them.

    Reply
  20. I came via a certain Kickstarter and well… if someone might drown in a barrel of horse piss I’m in. No questions asked. Never heard of these books before and now they’ve soared high on my to read list.

    Reply
  21. I would like to win because I’m always looking for new and interesting books to read (and then make my friends read).

    Reply
  22. I would love to win so that I can learn the tricks of the Gentlemen Bastards and become one of their rank to steal from the rich! Or just because I’m always looking for a good story and these seem utterly fascinating. Good luck to everyone!

    Reply
  23. I want to win because anyone who makes you happy must be awesome!

    Reply
  24. I would love to win simply for the title… with a name like Gentleman Bastards, how could you possibly go wrong?
    Also, Rebecka, major respect for you. Long live the Machine of Death!

    Reply
  25. I would love to win as I’ve been meaning to read both books since a friend raved about them to me. This would also give me the impetus to read both sooner rather than later (silly TBR pile)!

    Reply
  26. Because i’m horribly broke but my mind is going in circles from lack of things to read! Besides, I have it on very good authority that this series is quite brilliant ~.^

    Reply
  27. I’m an avid, avid fantasy fan, but I’ve not had the time to pick up his series yet. I’ve heard great things about it, from several people whose opinions I respect, and I would LOVE to get a copy for free. *crosses fingers*

    Reply

Leave a Reply

