Half Yearly update.

So I still haven’t started writing again, not properly. I have a little here and there, but I’m not writing, as in daily or at least often, constantly. My partner is, however. His novel is coming along well, at 24,000 words last I heard (I think), and it’s very engaging. It’s hard not to beg and harass him for more.

In my post ‘2012 Novel to be Read’ I listed 20 books I hear of all the time but haven’t yet read. So far I’ve read one of those now, ‘The Diviners’ by Libba Bray. I’m pretty sure I have them all on my kindle now, so I have no excuses. My reading this year has been lazy so far.

In my ‘Year of Reading’ post, I listed the following novels.

  • Siege and Storm (The Grisha #2) by Leigh Bardugo
  • Fuse (Pure #2) by Julianna Baggott
  • The Rithmatist by Brandon Sanderson
  • The Madness Underneath (Shades of London #2) by Maureen Johnson
  • Untold (The Lynburn Legacy #2) by Sarah Rees Brennan
  • Etiquette & Espionage (Finishing School #1) by Gail Carriger
  • The Republic of Thieves (Gentleman Bastard #3) by Scott Lynch
  • Steelheart (Unknown Trilogy #1) by Brandon Sanderson
  • Necessary Evil (Milkweed Triptych #3) by Ian Tregillis
  • Untitled (Adaptation #2) by Malinda Lo
  • The Bone Season by Samantha Shannon
  • Midnight Blue-Light Special (InCryptid #2) by Seanan McGuire
  • The Burning: A Luther Novel by Neil Cross
  • Without a Summer (Glamourist Histories #3) by Mary Robinette Kowal

I have three waiting to be read that I haven’t got ’round to yet, and three haven’t been released yet, and I’ve had to lie on one line because SECRETS MUST BE KEPT and eee. So I’m doing pretty well on that side of things, at least.

In my ‘Day Zero Project’ post, I said in 2013 I would:

  1. Learn how to crochet
  2. Start writing each day (again)
  3. Stop stressing
  4. Take a vacation to Brighton for World Fantasy Convention
  5. Find a new favourite author
  6. Try ice skating
  7. Be more unique

 

And so far I haven’t made much action on any of those points. Need a good kick, don’t I? Though 4 can’t happen until October anyhow. In a way I discovered the author Livia Day, but that’s Tansy Rayner Roberts under a different pen name, so kinda doesn’t count as a ‘new’ author. Other authors I’ve really enjoyed are Walter Jon Williams (for ‘This is not a Game’), Courtney Schafer (for ‘Whitefire Crossing’) and Marie Brennan (for ‘A Natural History of Dragons’).

Anyhow. Either way, I need to get more done. Animal Crossing: New Leaf is currently stealing all of my time.

About thiefofcamorr

Katharine likes to think she’s a Sky Pirate and that takes up most of her time. When she isn’t treasure hunting, she’s writing or playing video games and wishing Doctor Who and Farscape were real. She started writing at age 12 and has written almost every day on paper and most certainly in her mind otherwise – or at least, she used to, and is hoping to get back into that mindset asap. She tends to like the idea of fantasy, but her ideas themselves always seem to gravitate towards science fiction. Katharine is a judge in the Aurealis Awards, and would really like a pet chocobo.

Leave a Reply

